“Toying” around with new gear

Recently I was looking for a way to use large flash equipment outside while at high shutter speeds…like 1000th of a second or 2000 or even faster. Really can’t find a way. But in my search I heard about a newer mirrorless camera that might allow it. Turns out it didn’t but in researching I learned a lot about mirrorless cameras. For some time I’ve also considered buying a tele-extender, either the Canon 1.4X or 2X but just didn’t want to lose the aperture ‘speed’.  I ended up looking at mirrorless cameras again. I didn’t want to invest in a new system. I couldn’t be happier with my Canon gear.Image

 

I saw the Canon EOS-M mirrorless as a way to keep a ‘pocket’ camera with me all the time and, if needed, press into service to ‘extend’ the length of a few fast lenses without giving up the wide aperture. Of course every photographer loves his toys and maybe the whole argument is just justification for a new toy.  The camera cost less than the extenders…or did until I bought the lens adaptor too. Ended up a wash but I got a sweet small ‘everywhere’ camera as well. I’ve been playing with it since I got it this week. I still have a lot of the menus to figure out but it’s pretty easy. Good 18 meg chip and moderately low noise. Here’s a sample shot of Annie in the window. I shot it with my 100 2.8 macro. ISO 160 @ 160th sec at 2.8Image

And here’s one of Ellie with the same lens at 50th sec at 6400. It’s cropped to about half the frame. A little noisy and shaky at that shutter speed. Image

Here’s the camera with a 50mm 1.2 on it and one with the 5D Mk III by it’s side.  It’s kind of like shooting with a lens and almost no body. It’ll take some getting used to. It looks like a toy and my hands are struggling to get comfy with it but it’s hardly a ‘toy’. At 18 megs it really looks great and has a solid feel. The only real drawback for me so far is my eyes. I find myself holding it at arms length to be able to focus on the big 3″ screen on back. The 22mm lens it came with is a very crisp 35mm equivalent. My 50 becomes an 80 F1.2 and that macro became a 160mm 2.8 macro. The final shot is one I tried at macro. Needed a tripod for that. The lens adaptor has a mount. If and when I try it my 70-200 2.8 will become a 112-320 2.8. But I’d probably get laughed off any sideline where I pulled it out.

.Image

ImageImage

One thought on ““Toying” around with new gear

  1. I made a few errors here. It ‘appears’ to be the same aperture with the magnification but it’s really not. There is some loss. I learned that if I multiply the crop factor of the lens by the aperture of the lens I end up with a more accurate aperture idea. Meaning I get a better understanding of the depth of field given. Thus the 2.8 lens times the crop factor of the mirrorless Canon of 1.6 is f4.4 and the 1.2 lens times the 1.6 crop is actually 1.9…at least for depth of field comparison.

Leave a Reply

