catching my breath

Going freelance was never my plan. But some things aren’t planned. Now that I am freelance I’m pretty darn happy. It’s hard getting used to the roller coaster of too much to do and then very little and then suddenly busy again after so many years of just busy busy busy. I’ve slept more nights at home this year than in the past three or four and I’m loving it.  And Annie our dog is loving it too. 

I worried about where the work will come from and friends said not to worry, that I’ll do great. I deeply appreciated their confidence but had my own insecurities and doubts. But they have, so far and happily, been correct. The phone has sounded enough to keep me busy. I’ve made good inroads on making a living. Though I’ll always have fears and doubts I also know I’ll be ok. 

I’m especially happy to have had three different magazines use my work on their cover in the last three months. That’s been a very nice kick. Though I can’t expect that all the time I’m going to hope it happens again. 

I have a shoot for a favorite client this Saturday. It’s always good when they call back. Next week I’ll do my third shoot for another client. My work is on their current cover and hope I can get another for them on this shoot. 

I’ve had so much to learn and have learned so much…about creating new kinds of images and photographing things I haven’t, about promotion and about the business. I have done some studio work photographing Christmas packages, an historic car and beautiful hand-made violins. I’ve done a lot location portrait work and active shots of people working in the dark at 5am.

This week I joined Wonderful Machine and hope that exposure will help put my name in front of new clients. I just printed a second portfolio to accompany my main ‘book’. I still need to develop  promotional materials, both print and electronic. And I need to pay my county business taxes and renew my business license. It’s always something. 

 

Now if the phone would just ring  …

 

Leave a Reply

