Turning in the old, getting started on the new

Turning in the old, getting started on the new

Had high hopes for this week, my first as a newly minted freelancer. So much to get done and so much more to do. I wish I had accomplished so much this week that I didn’t. But then I did get a lot done too. First I turned in that employee Key Card to the office. I then came home, picked out and ordered a new laptop. The old one had to be turned in when I left Southern Living. As a pro photographer these days you just can’t shoot without one. So much of what I’ve been shooting is shot tethered to the laptop. It’s a great help to me in refining a shot. Going forward I expect any clients I might find will want to see it as well.

I had hoped to get started on a list of contacts to approach. Didn’t exactly get that done but I did go through a giant pile of old business cards and select the viable few. I talked to a good friend who freelances in Florida about software for billing, day rates, assistants, agents, websites, insurance and myriad other minutia where I’ll quickly have to get up to speed.

I’ve been looking at three websites hosts, Livebooks (who currently hosts my rock and roll photography website at my current URL artmeripol.com) Photoshelter which offers so many other services including storage and third party fulfillment for print orders and finally APhotoFolio, a fairly new host. I really like them all but I am leaning towards APhotoFolio because they use HTML5 which allows the site to work seamlessly on any device like smartphones and iPads. The guys who run it were photographers and photo editors who in their jobs were looking at thousands of photographer websites and came to realize what truly worked and what didn’t.
So, week one…some plans made, some more things to think about and a whole lot of editing to do for a website. At least I’m typing on my sweet new retina macbook pro. Now back to sifting through my external hard drives and thousands of files for that one image that might lift the upcoming website. I hope to have a site and business cards in the next couple weeks. But it’s almost overwhelming that I have so much to do in addition to walking the dogs.

2 thoughts on “Turning in the old, getting started on the new

  1. Art, I recommend Quickbooks Pro for your banking, time sheets, billing, tax records, etc. I tried several others such as Peachtree (WAY too complicated for a one-person shop). Also, get yourself incorporated under Georgia law (if you plan to stay in Birmingham) and get that accountant on board. Tax season is barreling down on us. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

